Federal Antidiscrimination Laws

Federal antidiscrimination laws are intended to protect people from discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, and genetic information. This covers a variety of settings, including employment, education, housing, and public facilities. These laws are implemented by several federal agencies. They aim to promote equal opportunity and to defend the civil rights of all citizens.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Title VII punishes employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, gender, or national origin. It is applicable to businesses with 15 or more employees.

Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA)

ADEA condemns age discrimination in employment against persons aged 40 and up. It is applicable to businesses with 20 or more employees.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The ADA criminalizes disability discrimination in employment, public services, public accommodations, and telecommunications. Employers with 15 or more employees are eligible for coverage.

Rehabilitation Act of 1973

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act bans disability discrimination in federally sponsored programs and activities.

Equal Pay Act (EPA)

Equal pay for men and women is mandated by the EPA. According to the EPA, this applies for doing equivalent labor in the same business. It applies to employers involved in interstate trade and the manufacture of commodities for interstate commerce.

Fair Housing Act (FHA)

Discrimination in housing on the grounds of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability is forbidden by the Fair Housing Act (FHA).

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972

Title IX prohibits gender-based discrimination. This includes federally funded educational programs and activities.

Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (GINA)

There exists discrimination in employment and health insurance coverage based on genetic information. It punishable by law through GINA.

Section 1981 of the Civil Rights Act of 1866

Section 1981 penalizes racial discrimination in contracts. This includes employment contracts.

Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA)

Individuals who serve in the military have their job rights protected by USERRA.

Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act

This Act extends the time limit for filing claims for wage discrimination. It resets the statute of limitations with each discriminatory paycheck.

Pregnancy Discrimination Act (PDA)

The PDA modifies Title VII to prohibit pregnancy, delivery, or associated medical circumstances from being grounds for discrimination.

Various federal agencies, including the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the Department of Education, and others, enforce these laws. Remember to file complaints with the proper government agency or take legal action in court.

Additional state and federal antidiscrimination laws safeguard against discrimination in specific circumstances and on additional grounds. Legal interpretations and protective measures might shift over time. It’s best to seek legal advice or the relevant federal agency for the most up-to-date information and assistance on antidiscrimination legislation.